What is eIDAS and how can we help you?

19.07.18 08:07 AM By Brightsight

eIDAS is a Europe-wide regulation for standardizing the use of electronic identification and trust services for electronic transactions in the European Union. As from 29 September 2018, all organisations delivering public digital services in any EU member state must recognise electronic identification from all EU member states. eIDAS defines 3 levels of assurance for electronic identification: low, substantial and high. Each of these is applicable to particular scenarios. While at this point in time the use of secure elements in the form factor of smart cards is the most common implementation of the tamper resistance requirement of eIDAS eID high, the secure elements are available in other shapes and forms. Secure elements store the required credentials in the form of digital certificates for Advanced and Qualified Electronic Signatures. Thanks to eIDAS, Qualified Signatures can be used by Trust Service Providers on behalf of end users by means of Remote Signing Services, paving the way for local and remote electronic signatures with the same legal standing as wet (handwritten) signatures. The reach of eIDAS goes beyond electronic IDs and legally binding electronic signatures. It provides users with a trusted framework for every digital transaction in Europe, as it is recognised by multiple jurisdictions and verticals, from online shopping, electronic payments and eHealth to all digital transactions with public services. If you would like to learn more about the eIDAS Regulation, what it means for you and your products and how Brightsight can help you, get in touch with us today! Send an e-mail to sales@brightsight.com.  
  • Electronic IDs
  • Biometrics
  • Secure Elements
  • Electronic Signatures (AES and QES)
  • Certification of
    • Qualified Signature Creation Devices
    • Server Signing
    • Cryptographic Modules